CarNetix Support Forum  

Go Back   CarNetix Support Forum > Main Forum > CNX-P2140-PC

Old 09-15-2008, 10:11 PM
Site Admin

Default Simple Service & Tray App for Managing USB Hibernation - X64 Supported

Now includes x64 support! Read last post for important driver information.

A couple weeks ago I picked up my Carnetix P2140, went through the firmware update process, and quickly grew tired of always having the Carnetix PSU mon app open on my taskbar.

I saw that Carnetix had released an SDK some time back, grabbed it, and soon had a custom hibernation service and trayicon app running that met my specific needs.

I'm a developer by trade so this stuff is very common for me. I recognize this isn't necessarily the case for others so I'm releasing my app suite, free of charge, without warranty, for unlimited personal use to those interested.

You can download the Windows installer here:
http://www.shellware.com/projects/p2...40MonSetup.zip

Download the zip file, extract the files and run setup.exe. After a few moments a new service will be installed on your computer named "P2140 Monitor", a trayicon application will be added to your Startup folder, and a handful of shortcuts will be created in a new Programs folder that enable you to start/stop the P2140 Monitor service and launch the P2140 Monitor system tray application.

The behavior of the service is pretty simple -- wait for the USBShutdown event and put the system into Hibernation.

Feel free to chime in with any questions, etc. This project will be probably be "developmentally" active for the next couple months.

Shell

Last edited by ShellDude; 01-30-2010 at 04:45 PM.
Old 09-16-2008, 07:02 AM
Administrator
Site Admin

Shell,

Awesome job! I'll give it a test and let you know what I find.

MikeH
mikeh@carnetix.com
Old 09-16-2008, 11:57 AM
Site Admin

Looking forward to any feedback, from anyone willing to provide it.