CarNetix Support Forum  

Go Back   CarNetix Support Forum > Main Forum > CNX-PSUmoni2140 Software

Closed Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 12:06 PM
Administrator
Site Admin

Default P2140 SDK/API Released 4/11/07

Today we are releasing V1.0 of our Software Devleopment Kit (SDK) which includes an Application Program Interface (API) DLL for the P2140 regulator. Please note that this API requires version 1.8+ firmware.

CarNetix P2140 SDK V1.0

The SDK includes:
1) SDK Guide
2) Demo program
3) P2140API.dll
4) USB drivers
5) P2140API Help File

Unfortunately, I am by no means an expert in this area and will be relying on some of you experts to help me get the appropriate information documented for the various applications you may want develop.

FYI, for those of you who have not taken the C# .NET 2.0 plunge, Microsoft is giving away (ie free) the Visual Studio Express IDE. It can make decent programmers out of your averae Joe (ie me). You may want to give it a try since it may make developing applications with the P2140API a bit easier.

Please provde any comments, questions, or feedback in this thread.

Enjoy!
mikeh@carnetix.com

Last edited by mikeh; 09-12-2007 at 09:55 PM.
Old 04-17-2007, 03:18 PM
Site Admin

Hi Mike, I have just started looking over the API, trying to get a feel for how I might use it. One suggestion I might have right off the bat is to move any fields that are not normally writable to a property (with only a get) supplied.
Code:
public bool Connected = false;
would change to
Code:
private bool connected = false;
public bool Connected{
  get{
    return connected;
  }
}
This helps to self document the api by making sure that the developer doesn't assume that he/she can connect/disconnect by changing this value. This also means for the larger struct objects especially the client program isn't creating unnecessary garbage by setting cb to a new cbP2140.